Friends Board Members

The Friends are governed by a Board of Directors. For questions and more information email the Friends of the Library.

Current Board Members and their offices for fiscal year 2020-21:

  • Candace Vessella, President
  • Carol Mertes-Smith, Vice President
  • William Oliva, Treasurer
  • Laura Troxell, Secretary
  • Teri Lowinger, Director
  • Keith Underwood, Director
  • Jackie Urban, Director
  • Nancy Zollo, Director


To promote the library and help raise funds to sponsor programming including performances, enhance the Children’s Program, and purchase lending materials, including books. Meetings are held the third Wednesday of every month.

Applying to be a member of the Board:

Individuals from the greater Lewes area who current members of the Friends of the Lewes Public Library may be considered for a three-year appointment on the Board of Directors.

The purpose of the Friends Board of Directors is to raise funds for its use such purchasing lending materials including books, sponsoring performances and enhancing the Children’s Program and promote the library. The Friends operate the Just Between Friends Shop the Lewes Public Library. Board members are expected to be actively involved in enhancing and improving the all-volunteer operation of this wonderful enterprise and other fundraising activities. Board meetings are held monthly.

To be considered, please complete and send an application to:
Candace Vessella, President
Friends of the Lewes Public Library Board of Directors
111 Adams Avenue
Lewes, DE 19958

Applications can picked up at the library.

Support the Library by joining the Friends today.